History of Calgary Beekeepers

The Club started in the early 1960’s as a group of long-time beekeepers getting together to discuss their solutions to successful beekeeping in the Calgary area. By 1978 membership was 100 active beekeepers.

During the 1980's, the club became relatively inactive and then bounced back in the late 80's and has been consistently gaining support since then. The Club is now well-established and growing along with the worldwide interest in bees and beekeeping.

Contact Us

For general inquiries please use: CalgaryBeekeepers@gmail.com
To remove a SWARM use: CalgaryBeekeepers@gmail.com
If you have a question about bees, beekeeping or related matters members are welcome to post it on the Calgary beekeepers newsgroup.
If you are not a member, you are welcome to join the club to use the newsgroup.

To become a member, contact our membership director using: CalgaryBeekeepers@gmail.com

Executive 2017
Changes at Meeting of March 8, 2017:
President, Bert Blouin resigned
Interim/Acting President: Thomas Schweizer
Interim/Acting Vice-President: Will Pratt
One Director at Large position remains vacant
Elections will take place at the monthly meeting of April 12, 2017

Secretary: Amye Baker (elected Jan 13, 2016)
Secretaries of Membership: Daphne McIntyre & Jacquie Keenan (elected Jan 11, 2017)
Treasurer: Jean-Francois Cianci (elected Jan 11, 2017)

Director: Bob Little (elected Jan 13, 2016)
Director at Large: Liz Goldie (elected Jan 11, 2017)
Director at Large:
Director at Large: Bill Rayment (elected Jan 11, 2017)

To contact any of our executive members please use our general inquiries email and address your intended party in your email message.
The AGM with election of executive members is held in January of each year.
The term for each elected position is 2 years.

The election at the AGM is for only approximately one half of the board members.